Sara Alag’s Weblog

November 4, 2008

You don’t appreciate what you have until it’s gone

Filed under: cricket — saraalag @ 12:44 am

 

I consider myself to be a ‘true’ cricket fan…i don’t just watch the glamorous T20 and the entertaining one dayers – I can sit through 5 days of gruelling test match cricket…imageI don’t just follow the the exciting MS. Dhoni, Rohit Sharma and Bhajji…but also the traditional craftsmen – Rahul Dravid and VVS…but somehow I missed Anil Kumble…

I have grown up idolising Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Saurav Ganguly and VVS…everytime India wins an unthinkable test match – I applaud the batsmen who scored the big runs. Whether in Headingly, Adelaide or Perth where India had huge wins, I joined millions of cricket fans in praising Sachin, Rahul Dravid, Ganguly and VVS…but like many others, I forgot the one man who played a major hand in all these wins…the quiet man who revived the ‘spirit of the game’…the man who was known as Jumbo – not only because of his size but also for his heart and effort…Farewell Anil Kumble…

Anil Kumble was not an innovative or exciting captain – but he put in 200% effort and in that way lead by example…Mahinder Singh Dhoni will miss you in his team….

Anil, as an Australian Indian, you were one of the few players I was proud of during the famous Bollyline series..you held your head high and led your team with dignity…

Jumbo, you have now joined my list of idols and will forever remain…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.